Jamie Rossjohn elected into the Fellowship of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences

Monash University researcher Professor Jamie Rossjohn has been formally inducted into the Fellowship of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (AAHMS).

Being elected as a Fellow honours the important contribution Professor Rossjohn has made to health and medical research in Australia. Professor Rossjohn, ARC Laureate Fellow, is recognised internationally for being at the cutting-edge of advances in the field of immunology.

“On behalf of my team and I, I am delighted to receive recognition of my findings on immunity – research that has been conducted at Monash over the last 15 years.  I would like to take this opportunity to acknowledge and highlight the tireless work of the research assistants in my laboratory, key members of the team whose work underpins our endeavours,” Professor Rossjohn said.


More details about AAHMS elected fellows

Jamie Rossjohn elected into the Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences, UK

Monash University scientist, Professor Jamie Rossjohn, has been elected to the Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences in the UK.

The Academy of Medical Sciences Fellows are considered the UK’s leading medical scientists, elected for their contribution to biomedical and health research, the generation of new knowledge in medical sciences and its translation into benefits to society.

Professor Rossjohn, ARC Laureate Fellow, is recognised internationally for his contributions to the field of immunology.

Namely, Rossjohn has provided the basis of key immune recognition events by T cells.  He has shown how T cells recognise polymorphic Human Leukocyte Antigen (HLA) molecules and unearthed mechanisms of HLA polymorphism impacting on drug and food hypersensitivities.  Moreover, he has pioneered our understanding of lipid and metabolite based immunity.

“I am greatly honoured to be invited to join this prestigious academy,” Professor Rossjohn said.

“The Fellowship reflects not only on my work personally but that of my colleagues both at the Biomedicine Discovery Institute and Cardiff University,” he said.

Original article

Australian Academy of Science welcomes Jamie as a fellow

Professor Jamie Rossjohn, from the School of Biomedical Sciences and Professor John Bowman, from the School of Biological Sciences, have been elected 2014 Fellows of the Australian Academy of Science. They were both nominated by their peers for their outstanding contributions to scientific research.

Every year the Academy honours the work of Australia’s leading scientists with election to its Fellowship. The Academy promotes science through education, public awareness, policy and international initiatives.

Professor Rossjohn, who is an NHMRC Australia Fellow from the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, was elected for his research into the structural basis for T-cell recognition of foreign antigens, which has had a profound impact on our understanding of autoimmunity and drug and food hypersensitivities.

“It is very humbling for my research to be recognised in this manner,” Professor Rossjohn said.

“This recognition arises from the findings that my collaborators, researchers and I have made in the field of T-cell immunology. Such findings would not have been possible without the support of the Australian Research Council, National Health and Medical Research Council and the Cancer Council Victoria.”

“Moreover, the long standing encouragement and support of Monash University, who have provided an outstanding environment for my team and me, has been a key factor in being able to undertake high profile science.”

As a member of the team that was recently awarded funding to establish the ARC Centre of Excellence in Advanced Molecular Imaging, Professor Rossjohn said he is poised to undertake new lines of investigation in the field of immune recognition at Monash.

“Access to major national infrastructure, such as the Australian Synchrotron, has also been crucial for us to maintain a competitive edge internationally,” Professor Rossjohn said.

Another Australian Academy of Science Fellow from Monash University is Professor John Bowman, a plant geneticist at the School of Biological Sciences. He was recognised for his highly original discoveries that have revealed the genetic basis of three fundamental processes in plant development.

Professors Rossjohn and Bowman will be admitted as Fellows at Science in the Shine Dome, the Academy’s annual celebration in Canberra in May, where the 21 newly elected scientists will also present summaries of their research achievements.

Professors Rossjohn and Bowman join other research lumunaries from Monash University who have recently been elected Fellows of the Academy. They include: Professors Doug MacFarlane (2007), Charles Mackay (2009), Trevor Lithgow (2010), Joe Monaghan (2011), Bryan Williams (2013) and Yuri Estrin (2013).

Original article